0%
Caution: JavaScript execution is disabled in your browser or for this website. You may not be able to answer all questions in this survey. Please, verify your browser parameters.

CONSENT FORM

You are invited to participate in a web-based online survey on the direct and indirect costs associated with living with or caring for someone with a neuromuscular disorder and impacts on quality of life. This is a research project being conducted by Muscular Dystrophy Canada.  The purpose of this survey is to collect individual- and caregiver- reported outcomes to better understand the burden of neuromuscular disorders on patients and their caregivers in Canada. It should take approximately 1 hour to complete. If necessary, you can save and return to the survey at any time. You can also email research@muscle.ca or call 1 800 567-2873 ext. 9037 to schedule a time to complete the questionnaire by phone.

PARTICIPATION

Your participation in this survey is completely voluntary. You may refuse to take part in the research or exit the survey at any time without penalty. If you decide not to participate there will not be any negative consequences. Please be aware that if you decide to participate, you can withdraw your submitted responses up to 1 month from the submission date or prior to the data results being published.

This consent form asks you to allow Muscular Dystrophy Canada to view your responses and your comments as data in this study.

BENEFITS

Your responses may help us learn more about the factors associated with quality of life for individuals impacted by neuromuscular disorders. The information we get from this study may help us to plan for MDC mission objectives, influence positive change, that is, public policy efforts and advocate for better treatments and services to the meet the needs of patients with neuromuscular disorders and their caregivers in the future. 

RISKS

The possible risks or discomforts of the study are minimal.

This study focuses on the burden and impact of neuromuscular disorders on patients and caregivers in Canada. As such, some of the survey questions ask about your day-to-day life as it relates to your health condition. Reflecting on your health and thinking about your experiences could be upsetting and distressing for some individuals. You may feel a little uncomfortable, sad, tired from answering personal, sensitive and many survey questions.

ALTERNATIVES TO PARTICIPATION

This research study is for research purposes only. The only alternative is to not participate in this study.

COMPENSATION AND COSTS

You will not receive any monetary compensation for your participation in this study.

There is no cost to you, your private medical insurance (if any), or the public health insurance plan, for study participation. 

CONFIDENTIALITY

Your identity will be kept confidential at all times, except where disclosure is required by law. Data collected from your participation in this research study will be de-identified and held in a Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA)- secured database for data analysis.  Data will be stored in a password protected electronic format. Muscular Dystrophy Canada will not publish information connected to you such as your name, email address, IP address. Therefore, your responses will remain anonymous. No one will be able to identify you or your answers, and no one will know whether you participated in the study. Muscular Dystrophy Canada will maintain the confidentiality of the research records.

Please note, if you choose to provide medical information such as your diagnosis, use of health services and costs, name of healthcare professional, your survey responses may no longer be anonymous to the Muscular Dystrophy Canada Research Team. However, no names or any identifying information would be included in any publications or presentations based on these data, and your responses to this survey will remain confidential.

Representatives of the research ethics review board - Advarra IRB (an independent ethics committee that reviewed the ethical aspects of this study to help protect the rights and welfare of study participants), may have access to the information collected for this study, at the study site.

By selecting “Agree”, you will not lose any of your legal rights or release anyone involved in the research from responsibility for mistakes.

WHOM TO CONTACT ABOUT THIS STUDY

If you have questions at any time about the study or the procedures, you may contact Dr. Homira Osman via phone at 437-912-9037 or via email at Homira.Osman@muscle.ca.

An institutional review board (IRB) is an independent committee established to help protect the rights of research subjects.  If you have any questions about your rights as a research subject, and/or concerns or complaints regarding this research study, contact:

  • By mail:

Study Subject Adviser
Advarra IRB
6940 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 110
Columbia, MD 21046

Please reference the following number when contacting the Study Subject Adviser: Pro00041501.

(This question is mandatory)

For consent, we require your first and last name:

I, (participant’s name), understand that I am being asked to participate in a questionnaire for Muscular Dystrophy Canada. It is my understanding that this questionnaire has been designed to gather information about the factors associated with quality of life for individuals impacted by neuromuscular disorders.

I have been given information about this project and the types of questions I can expect to answer. I understand that the questionnaire will be conducted online and that it will take approximately 1 hour of my time to complete.

I understand that my participation in this project is completely voluntary and that I am free to decline to participate, without consequence, at any time prior to or at any point during the activity.  I understand that any information I provide will be kept confidential and will not be used in any way that can identify me. All questionnaire responses and records will be kept in a secured environment. 

(This question is mandatory)

Please select your choice below.

You may print a copy of this consent form for your records. Placing a mark beside the “Agree” option indicates that:

  • I have read and understand the above information
  • I voluntarily agree to participate

0%
Attention : l’exécution de JavaScript est désactivée dans votre navigateur ou sur ce site. Vous risquez de ne pas pouvoir répondre à toutes les questions. Veuillez vérifier les paramètres de votre navigateur.

FORMULAIRE DE CONSENTEMENT

Vous êtes invité(e) à participer à un sondage en ligne sur les coûts directs et indirects associés au fait de vivre avec une maladie neuromusculaire ou de prendre soin d’une personne qui en est atteinte, ainsi que sur les impacts de la maladie sur la qualité de vie. Mené par Dystrophie musculaire Canada, ce projet de recherche, a pour objectif de recueillir les informations communiquées par les personnes atteintes et les proches aidants pour mieux comprendre le fardeau qu’imposent les maladies neuromusculaires aux patients et à leurs proches aidants au Canada. Répondre à ce questionnaire devrait prendre environ une heure de votre temps. Au besoin, vous pourrez sauvegarder vos réponses et terminer le questionnaire plus tard. Vous pouvez aussi répondre à ce questionnaire par téléphone, en prenant d’abord rendez-vous, soit par courriel (research@muscle.ca), soit par téléphone (1 800 567-2873, poste 9037).

PARTICIPATION

Votre participation à ce sondage est entièrement volontaire. Vous pouvez refuser d’y répondre ou quitter le sondage en tout temps sans aucune conséquence. Vous êtes tout à fait libre de refuser de répondre à toute question. Le refus de participer à ce sondage n’aura pour vous aucune conséquence négative. Sachez aussi que si vous décidez de participer, vous pouvez demander que vos réponses soient retirées jusqu’à un mois après leur date de soumission ou en tout temps avant la publication des résultats.

Le présent formulaire de consentement vous demande d’autoriser Dystrophie musculaire Canada à prendre connaissance de vos réponses et commentaires à titre de données dans le cadre de cette étude.

AVANTAGES

Vos réponses à ce sondage pourraient nous permettre d’en apprendre davantage sur les facteurs associés à la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de maladies neuromusculaires. L’information tirée de cette étude pourrait nous aider à planifier les objectifs de la mission de DMC, favoriser des changements positifs quant à nos efforts concernant les politiques publiques et la mobilisation en vue de l’amélioration des traitements et des services, et ainsi de nous permettre de mieux répondre à l’avenir aux besoins des patients atteints de maladies neuromusculaires et de leurs proches aidants.

RISQUES

Cette étude ne comporte qu’un risque minimal d’inconvénients ou de désagréments.

Elle vise uniquement à mieux cerner le fardeau qu’imposent les maladies neuromusculaires aux personnes qui en sont atteintes et à leurs proches aidants au Canada et leur impact sur leur vie. À ce titre, certaines des questions ont trait à votre vie quotidienne en rapport avec votre état de santé. Pour certaines personnes, le fait de réfléchir à leur état de santé et à leur expérience à cet égard pourrait être inconfortable et même pénible. Répondre à certaines de ces questions personnelles et délicates pourrait en effet susciter chez vous tristesse, fatigue ou malaise.

AUTRES FAÇONS DE PARTICIPER

Cette étude est menée exclusivement à des fins de recherche. La seule autre option est de choisir de ne pas y participer.

RÉTRIBUTION

Aucune rétribution monétaire ne vous sera versée pour votre participation à ce sondage et votre participation n’aura non plus aucune incidence monétaire pour vous, pour votre assurance médicale privée (le cas échéant), ni pour votre régime public d’assurance.

CONFIDENTIALITÉ

La confidentialité de votre identité sera préservée en tout temps, sauf si la loi devait en exiger la divulgation. Les données recueillies dans le cadre de votre participation à cette étude seront dépersonnalisées puis conservées aux fins d’analyse dans des bases de données conformes aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et électroniques (LRPDE). Ces données seront conservées en format électronique et leur accès sera protégé par mot de passe. Dystrophie musculaire Canada ne publiera aucune information vous concernant (nom, adresse courriel, adresse IP), ceci afin de préserver votre anonymat. Personne ne pourra vous identifier, ni vous ni vos réponses, et personne ne saura si vous avez ou non participé à cette étude. Dystrophie musculaire Canada assurera la confidentialité de toutes données qui s’y rapportent.

Veuillez noter que si vous décidez de fournir des renseignements médicaux, par exemple la nature de votre diagnostic, votre utilisation des services de santé, leur coût, ou le nom des professionnels de la santé qui s’occupent de vous, vos réponses pourraient compromettre votre anonymat auprès des membres de l’équipe de recherche de Dystrophie musculaire Canada. Cependant, aucun nom ni renseignement permettant de vous identifier ne sera inclus dans aucune publication ou présentation basées sur ces données, et vos réponses à ce sondage demeureront strictement confidentielles.

Les représentants d’Advarra IRB, un comité d’éthique indépendant sur la recherche qui a examiné les aspects éthiques de cette étude en vue de protéger les droits et le bien-être des participants éventuels, pourraient avoir accès à l’information recueillie dans le cadre de ce sondage au site de l’étude.

Le fait de sélectionner « Je consens » ne vous privera d’aucun droit légal, ni ne dégagera aucune personne intervenant dans cette recherche de ses responsabilités quant à des erreurs.

QUI CONTACTER AU SUJET DE CETTE ÉTUDE

Pour toutes questions sur cette étude ou ses procédures, vous pouvez en tout temps communiquer avec Homira Osman, Ph. D., par téléphone au 437 912-9037, ou encore par courriel à Homira.Osman@muscle.ca.

L’établissement d’un comité d’éthique indépendant vise à protéger les droits des personnes qui participent à une recherche. Pour toutes questions sur vos droits en tant que sujet d’une recherche ou pour toutes préoccupations ou plaintes au sujet de la présente recherche, nous vous invitons à communiquer :

  • par la poste à :

Study Subject Adviser
Advarra IRB
6940 Columbia Gateway Drive, Suite 110
Columbia, MD 21046

Prière d’indiquer le numéro de référence suivant : Pro00041501.

(Cette question est obligatoire)
Pour le consentement, nous avons besoin de votre nom et prénom:

Je, soussigné(e) (nom du participant/de la participante), comprends que Dystrophie musculaire Canada me demande de répondre à un questionnaire. Je comprends aussi que ce questionnaire vise à recueillir des renseignements sur les facteurs associés à la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par des maladies neuromusculaires.

J’ai reçu l’information pertinente à ce projet et sur les types de questions auxquelles je serai appelé(e) à répondre. Je comprends que ce sondage sera mené en ligne et qu’il me faudra environ une heure pour y répondre.

Je comprends que ma participation à ce sondage est entièrement volontaire et q  ue je peux en tout temps refuser d’y participer, sans aucune conséquence, que ce soit avant d’y répondre ou à tout autre moment. Je comprends aussi que tout renseignement fourni sera tenu dans la plus stricte confidentialité et ne sera aucunement utilisé d’aucune façon qui pourrait permettre de m’identifier. Toutes les réponses et données relatives  à ce sondage seront conservées dans un lieu sécurisé.

(Cette question est obligatoire)

Veuillez sélectionner votre choix ci-dessous.

Vous pouvez imprimer une copie de ce formulaire de consentement pour vos dossiers. Le fait de placer une marque à côté de l'option «D'accord» indique que:

  • J'ai lu et compris les informations ci-dessus
  • J'accepte volontairement de participer